You are here: Home » Blog » major races » 2009 Ballarat Cup Heats Preview

2009 Ballarat Cup Heats Preview

by Matt on December 1, 2009

The below article is courtesy of Tim O’Conner over at the Courier Mail. Click here to see it at its original source.

A host of group race-winning greyhounds will fight out the heats of the lucrative Ballarat Cup tomorrow night.

Leading the charge is the Andrea Dailly-trained Dyna Lachlan, who was runner-up in group one duo the National Sprint Championship and Melbourne Cup.

Based at Anakie, the Dailly kennel won the Ballarat Cup with Knockabout Wok in 2002 and Magic Trance in 2005 and also has Allen Chang, Manuel Bale and Mick The Mozz in this year’s series.

Devon Meadows mentor Darren McDonald, who won a Ballarat Cup with Wild Pirate in 1992, has five heat runners – Danny Phantom, Go Go Allegro, Rev Limiter, Silent Guardian and Timberland.

Also contesting the series are group race winners Fedex (group one Silver Chief and group one National Derby), Remo Rubik (group two Wangaratta Cup and group two Traralgon Cup), Birthday Boy (group two Geelong Cup), Major Mission (group two Warragul Cup) and the past two winners of the group two Great Chase, Pharoah King and Sheoak Ian.

Young Lara trainer Jamie Ennis quinellaed last year’s Ballarat Cup with Vee Man Vane and Mogambo. His hopes of back-to-back wins rest with rising star Zenith.

Moe mentor Peter Giles, who won a Ballarat Cup with Puzzle Prize in 2003, is represented by Grease Monkey, while Lara trainer Tina Womann has a five-pronged attack – Miss Martini, Renovating, Spiral Glory, Usain Delight and Viva Las Vegas.

Ballarat Greyhound Racing Club manager Geoff Knape is ecstatic with the quality of speedsters contesting the seven heats of the group two Ballarat Cup, 450m, tomorrow night.

The cup contingent comprises a mix of established stars and new kids on the block.

“It’s just as strong a group as last year, probably even stronger,” Knape said.

“I’m completely over the moon with the quality considering the series clashes with the group one Hobart Thousand (heats on December 10).”

Winners of the seven heats will progress through to the final of December 9, with the fastest second placegetter securing the final spot in the eight-dog field. The next two fastest second finishers will make up the reserves and will only gain a run in the event of a scratching.

Click here to bet on the 2009 Ballarat Cup Heats with Sportsbet.

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: